The domaine traces its history back to the early 19th century, when Michael Lafarge’s father bought the iconic Clos du Château des Ducs in 1900. Michel worked in the domaine with his father since 1949, while his son, Frédéric, started in 1978. In 2018, they were joined by the next generation, Clothilde Lafarge, daughter of Frédéric and his wife, Chantal.
The first wines bottled at the domaine in 1934 included Clos des Chênes, the domaine’s largest Volnay premier cru holding. The wines are pure, age-worthy and yet quite beautifully delicate. The domaine converted to biodynamics in 1996.